Let It Snow

Posted: January 22, 2010 in Batteries Not Included

We were driving back to San Jose from LA yesterday, and while we were in the Grapevine, we noticed that the hills up ahead were starting to turn white.  When we got higher up, around Gorman, snow started falling – it was a beautiful sight.  Of course traffic slowed down quite a bit, and later we found out it was because there were two snow plows driving in front of our group of cars.

This was our second experience driving in the snow – the other makes for a great story too, but that’s for another day.  We noticed that despite the slow speed, there weren’t that many cars backed up behind us, and there weren’t any cars in the southbound lanes, either.  Turns out that the I-5 had been closed just minutes after we started our ascent; when we got down on the other side, we saw all traffic being diverted off the freeway on the southbound lanes.  As of today, more than 24 hours later, the I-5 is still closed in both directions.

This got me thinking – as much as I appreciated the beautiful snow and thanked God for getting us through, would I still be as thankful if we’d made it to the Grapevine, oh, 15 minutes later, and ended up being turned away, unable to return to work and school?  Would I have ended up grumbling and cursing the snow, and blaming the kids for taking too long to get out of the house and on the road?  I’m very adept at blessing God’s name in the land that is plentiful, where His streams of abundance flow, but what would come out of my mouth (and my heart) when I’m found in the desert place, when I walk through the wilderness?

Leave a Reply

