Spin, spin, spin!

Posted: April 5, 2010 in Batteries Not Included

One day into our roadtrip, we’ve already had two spin-outs.  The first time, we were driving late Sunday evening, and it was snowing, and it was a long straight stretch of road, but either I missed the signs warning of the upcoming turn, or there were no signs.  Either way, all of a sudden I found myself staring at the side of the road, and I can’t remember what I tried to do, either turning or stepping on the brakes – either way, we didn’t make the turn in time, and went off the road, into the snow-covered shoulder.  I remember saying “OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD” as we approached the turn, and somehow A managed to sleep through it, until she was jostled awake when we went off-road.  I remember thinking, “I’m glad there’s a shoulder instead of a cliff here.”

The second spin-out occurred on the way to Crater Lake – I guess we hit a patch of black ice or something.  We were going pretty slow, but all of a sudden I felt the car floating across the road, the rear of the car drifting sideways, and pretty soon we were facing the wrong way.  Good thing there weren’t any other cars on the road.

Maybe it’s because I’m too tired to be driving.  Yesterday was Easter, and He is risen, but oh, what a price we paid… a week and a half ago, it was decided that we would be doing a drama for Easter.  I’m glad we had so much time to prepare!  So the week before Easter, we were hustling and bustling, changing out the stage lights during the day, working on the play soundtrack and visuals during the night.  I think I had a total of 13 hours of sleep over the course of 4 nights.  Oh and did I mention the high school group was doing a bake sale this same weekend, to raise funds for the summer missions trip (for which we are currently on the road, scouting out the location)?

But thank God, we made it through the weekend, and so far we have made it through two spin-outs, and are staying at a hotel tonight overlooking Hood River.  It was dark when we got here, so we can’t see much, save some dim reflections from street lights on the water.  MrE is writing in his journal, drawing pictures to document our trip, and Ziggy is writing cards to her friend Nathan.  And I’m online, listening to the recording to the staff/coworker meeting that I missed tonight.

All is well.

Leave a Reply

