I Need Your Love

Posted: April 8, 2010 in Batteries Not Included
Tags: , , , ,

This is day 4 of our weeklong vacation, and I have to say, we’ve stayed at some pretty nice places the last few days.  Hotel Deluxe in Portland, OR, though somewhat nondescript from the outside, had a very posh feel once you get inside.  The bathroom was bigger than some bedrooms I’ve seen.  And the Hotel 1000 in Seattle, WA has to be seen to be believed.  Well, maybe it’s because I’m a country bumpkin who hasn’t traveled much, but this place is… swell.  Nice service, too.  The room gave me many “romantical” ideas, but we’ve got kids now, so I guess all that can be tossed out the window.  And then there’s the fact that we came all the way to Seattle to visit the Experience Music Project, and I didn’t get to see the guitar that Jimi used to play Star Spangled Banner at Woodstock, because of a grumpy little girl who was worried about missing the Duck ride (which is where I ended up hearing about Jimi’s guitar being at EMP, ironically).  Kids!  When you have them, your life is pretty much over.  But that’s a thought for another post.

I was telling A that when I get a chance, I’m going to Yelp these places to let people know how…. swell they are.  But I got to thinking about Yelping this evening, and I had a small epiphany – who really gives a hoot what I think?  I’ve written a few Yelp reviews (you can see my profile here) and have even had several reviews voted either useful, funny or cool.  I used to really get a kick out of seeing people rate my reviews.  But like I said, this evening I got to thinking – who really cares what I think?  Do I really think I’m so important that people would actually care about what I think of Firestone?  (Apparently three people have found my review of Firestone’s thieving ways useful.)  When I Yelp, is it just an ego thing, putting my thoughts out there, letting people know what I think, asserting my opinions?  My thoughts actually might matter to someone!

It got me to thinking about Facebook, too.  Sure, it’s a cool social networking tool, but more than half the time, it’s people posting (mundane) status updates, and other people “liking” or commenting on the updates.  For a while, I was updating about the stupidest little things, and getting a thrill from people liking or commenting on my updates.  It was such a thrill!  People like me!  People approve of me!  I was being socially affirmed.

Don’t get me started on Twitter.

But while we are busy seeking affirmation from our digital friends, do we forget about those who are physically right next to us?  Like… family, real friends (not the ones you only see online and don’t really know, and sometimes consider “unfriending” because you can’t figure out why you friended them in the first place), people in the flesh that you could actually interact with?  It made me think of my own life, seeking fulfillment in so many silly little things, when I can find all fulfillment in God.  But I don’t seek my fulfillment from God, I seek it from material things, from music, from relationships, all these things that are here today but are gone tomorrow.  And all the while, God is watching me, wondering when the lightbulb will go on over my head and I’ll realize I’m busy chasing empty dreams.  Like the parents watching their child immerse himself in his friendships, not bothering to nurture his relationship with those who gave him life (and the roof over his head and the food in his stomach).  Or the husband or wife who watches the spouse chasing emotional/physical fulfillment from other sources.

God meant for things to be a certain way.  But we spend our whole life looking for another way.  I wonder when we’ll wake up and realize it.  I wonder when I’ll wake up and realize that not that many people really care about what I think of Hotel 1000.  Or my status update.  Or my blog, for that matter.  🙂

I’ll leave you with one of my favorite songs from U2, Hawkmoon 269:

Like a desert needs rain
Like a town needs a name
I need your love
Like a drifter needs a room
Hawkmoon
I need your love

Like a rhythm unbroken
Like drums in the night
Like sweet soul music
Like sunlight
I need your love

Like coming home
And you don’t know where you’ve been
Like black coffee
Like nicotine
I need your love

Like a phoenix rising needs a holy tree
Like the sweet revenge of a bitter enemy
I need your love

Like the hot needs the sun
Like honey on her tongue
Like the muzzle of a gun
Like oxygen
I need your love

Like thunder needs rain
Like a preacher needs pain
Like tongues of flame
Like a sheet stained
I need your love

Like a needle needs a vein
Like someone to blame
Like a thought unchained
Like a runaway train
I need your love

Like faith needs a doubt
Like a freeway out
I need your love

Like powder needs a spark
Like lies need the dark
I need your love

Like oxygen.  Indeed.

Comments
  1. Alice says:

    I still don’t get what hawkmoon means. Hotel 1000 was great. And found on yelp! I always check yelp to see what other people experienced. What a coincidence! I was also surrounded by some really grumpy people when I went to Seattle.

Leave a Reply

