In Loving Memory

Posted: August 6, 2010 in Batteries Not Included
Tags: , ,

OK, so maybe I’m the only one who didn’t know the complete story behind the Taj Mahal.  All I knew was that it had something to do with someone who loved his wife very much, and he’d built it for her.  Someone, obviously, who had great wealth, or had many contractor friends who were willing to cut him a good deal.

So I was over at Wikipedia reading about the story behind the monument, and learned that it was built for the emperor’s third and favorite wife, as a memorial for her (it’s a mausoleum) , after she died while giving birth to their fourteenth child.

A few questions/thoughts came to mind right away:

  1. Favorite wife?  But I guess times were different then.
  2. Fourteen children? I hope he expressed his love for her in ways other than impregnating her, over and over again.
  3. Third and most poignant thought – I hope he showed her how much he loved her, while she was still alive. I hope the massive mausoleum wasn’t one big show of regret that he didn’t love her while she was still around.
  4. Just to squeeze in one more thought – I wonder if the other wives who were still around got jealous.

I know.. this isn’t one of the usual deep and thought provoking posts that I put out. It’ll have to do for now.

Leave a Reply

