There Has To Be A Better Way.

Posted: October 8, 2010 in Batteries Not Included
Tags: , , ,

I’m tired of begging.

At most other churches I’ve visited, being on the worship team is a privilege, an honor, something coveted. As well it should be – just think about it. You’re serving The King, singing His praises, magnifying His Name.

But with some people at our church, they see it as a favor they’re doing for the church. They’ll serve if it’s convenient, if they have time, if they feel like it. They have to be begged, almost borderline coerced to serve.  In the past, I would send out email reminders to the team that they’re serving that week. Some people don’t bother reading the email, so come practice time, they don’t show up. So I started asking everyone (at the end of the email) to please PLEASE write back to let me know they’ve received the email. I felt like I was babysitting them. Like they’re somehow too good for all this, that this is below them.

Well, you know what? That’s coming to an end. See – serving on the worship team ought to, as I said in the beginning, a privilege, an honor. So if you can’t be bothered to be a little more passionate, that’s fine. But I’m not going to beg anymore. We are in the service of the KING – He shouldn’t have to beg anyone to serve Him.

And I think He would be pleased with the worship as long as our hearts are in the right place. Won’t matter if we happen to be short a guitarist/pianist/bassist/keyboardist/drummer/vocalist. Know what I mean?

Turn your ear to heaven and hear the noise inside. The sound of angels’ awe, the sound of angels’ songs – and all this for a King! We could join and sing, all to Christ our King!

Amen!

Comments
  1. And when people ask why the music sounded bad or why we were missing people, you can say that it wasn’t your fault

  2. I wonder if sometimes the music would sound better *if* we were missing people…

  3. Alison says:

    Leading people in praising and worshiping our God SHOULD be a privilege. I feel that people like this act/think this way because they do not properly understand who God is TO THEM. I know it’s something I struggle with alongside a slew of other things that comes with being on my church’s praise and worship team.

    And less IS more. =)

Leave a Reply

