Fakin’ It

Posted: October 20, 2010 in Batteries Not Included
Tags:

I dread the times when he wants intimacy. I dread hearing the call. I will either pretend to sleep, or grumble about being too tired, or promise him that we’ll do it later. When I do do it, it’s usually out of a sense of obligation, but I don’t feel anything. Well, no, I take that back – once or twice a year, when the setting’s just right, when everyone else around me seems to be getting into the spirit of things, when we take time away from work and set time aside for ourselves, then I can really enjoy our time together. But soon, the weekend is over, and we’re back to the real world, and the richness and intimacy we’d just shared fades in the face of the bills yet to be paid, projects to be completed, kids to feed, house to clean, gardens to tend, laundry to fold. All these things cloud my mind, and it’s all I can think about when he calls.. he still remembers the intimacy, and he would like to have time with me again, but I just can’t do it, not with all these other responsibilities I have. But out of obligation, I succumb.. I fake it, like I am having a great time, and I hope he doesn’t notice.

Will he notice? Will he care?

Will He notice? Will He care?

Leave a Reply

