Eleanor Rigby

Posted: October 30, 2010 in Batteries Not Included
Tags:

All the lonely people… where do they all come from?

All the lonely people… where do they all belong?

I went out tonight to pick up some Pedialyte for MrE, who had been sick and vomiting all day and apparently not getting properly hydrated (this we found out after Alice took him to urgent care).  Several places I tried were closed – RiteAid, WalGreens – so I ended up at the 24-hour Safeway in Milpitas.  I picked up two bottles of Pedialyte, and got in line at the only register open, behind a long line of costumed people, restocking party supplies (I learned that Halloween parties happen on Saturday this year, because nobody parties on Sunday nights).  Midst all the merriment and revelry, I couldn’t help feeling a little lonely.. and wishing someone would show a little sympathy, acknowledging that I was not going home to a party, but to a sick child. I started thinking that I would blog about it when I got home, that as we go about our lives, not everyone’s having a blast, not everyone’s having a good time; I thought about how if we just took the time to look around, we would notice those in our midst who need a little help, a little smile, a little love (yes, that would be me).

But as I got ready to write, I realized how selfish I was. Yes, my child was sick, yes, I was standing in a long line trying to hurry home to bring some needed medication for my son (though it’s not technically medication, but I digress).  But then it dawned on me – all those people around me who were dressed to the nines and ready to go out and have a grand old time – are they really happy? Are they really having a good time? Or are they lonely people, caught in the pretense of happiness? Instead of looking at myself, why couldn’t I have looked around to see if there was a sad face I could have helped cheer up tonight?

Eleanor Rigby died in the church and was buried along with her name, nobody came.
Father McKenzie, wiping the dirt from his hands as he walks from the grave,

NO ONE WAS SAVED.

Comments
  1. Jeiji says:

    Deep. You’re right, too. I would be better off looking for a face to cheer up rather than wondering if anyone’s worried about me. I also really liked how you fit the lyrics to Elanor Brigby to the post. Very fluent.

Leave a Reply

