Goodbye, Eric

Posted: November 8, 2011 in Batteries Not Included
Tags: ,

11am, November 8th. It’s been a month since the shooting that took you away. It still pains me to think about you. I still have all those news articles open in my browser. I see their headlines, but I can’t bring myself to re-read them. “San Jose police identify two weekend homicide victims, both former SJSU students.” The article that ripped my heart apart. But I couldn’t bring myself to close those tabs, either.

But life must go on. See, Eric, I don’t really have anyone to talk to about this. About my feelings. I was told to get past it. So today, on the one-month anniversary of your death, I am choosing to get past it. I will not forget you, but I will go on with my life. I think you would’ve been disappointed to hear that I was in a funk. I will choose to honor my memories of you by reaching out to more people. I believe it’s what you would’ve wanted.

And today… I will finally close those tabs. Goodbye, til we meet again.

Leave a Reply

