Farcebook

Posted: November 12, 2011 in Batteries Not Included
Tags: ,

I deactivated my Facebook account a week ago. I’m still alive.

I’m finding that I liked Facebook because it was how people kept in touch with me. I liked getting the notifications, the comments, the likes, the posts on my wall. In the week that I’ve been off Facebook, I’ve literally gone from 20+ social interactions per day to about 2 for the week. And I’m talking about the electronic kind of interaction, not real human social interaction. Because, frankly, I’ve forgotten how to do that kind of interaction.

But seriously. In the week past, I haven’t had much human interaction. Especially at home (unless you count meal times). And it’s getting pretty lonely. I think I’m getting depressed from the lack of interaction. I find myself searching aimlessly online for some contact, but alas, I have to be careful where I look because frankly, I don’t think Wife would understand my browsing eHarmony.com.

I’ve always considered myself an introvert, a quiet one. Almost borderline anti-social, really (you’re probably asking, “THEN WHY ARE YOU A PASTOR?!”). But I think I’m finding out that I’m not as introverted as I think. I think I just didn’t like making the effort of making first contact; I liked to wait for people to come talk to me. I like it when YOU initiate.

I don’t know why I’m writing this. I’m not sure I’ve made a point. Maybe I’m just hoping for some human interaction, that maybe the 1.5 persons who read this blog would comment. By the way, it seems most of my readership come through to this blog through Facebook (minus the handful of you who’ve subscribed) so traffic has been down.

We humans really do crave interaction, whether we realize it or not.

Comments
  1. ok ok, I’ll give you some interaction. farcebook……I SEE WHAT YOU DID THAR

Leave a Reply

