Needles and Pain

Posted: July 11, 2012 in Batteries Not Included

Oh, what peace we often forfeit, what needless pain we bear, all because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.

Some glorious morning sorrows will cease; some glorious morning all will be peace. Unfortunately, that morning is not this morning. But until that morning comes, we have this assurance that we do not need to carry our sorrows alone.

How foolish I have been, to try to bear it alone, all because I do not carry everything to God in prayer. My Grandmother used to sing this hymn to me, “What a Friend We Have in Jesus.” Ever since my earliest memories she has sang this to me. All these years, the words have echoed in my mind. When MrE was born, as I cradled him in my arms in that hospital room, this was the song that rang in my mind, this was the song that escaped my lips. At my grandmother’s funeral, this was the closing song. I’d think that when she lost my grandpa to lung cancer (I never knew him), this was her song. And it was the song that she passed on to me, that stays with me to this day.

And yet, the words have apparently not really sunk in, because I still do not carry everything to God in prayer. So much pain, so much hurt, so much frustration – all so needless. All I had to do was carry it to God in prayer.

Leave a Reply

